Consider what Lent Observance Means to so many

If you come from a faith tradition that is non-liturgical, one that does not follow the christian calendar for example, do yourself a favor. Take a peek at what the observance of Lent- the 40 days that begins on Ash Wednesday and leads up to the Easter celebration- means to the different faith traditions that practice the christian faith in this way. Follow the LENT ‘tag’ on WordPress to the wonderful diversity manifested in our unity of One Faith and One Lord.lentMy wife is reading through a book of meditations on the atonement-The Passion of Christ, by John Piper- I think this will make the third year she has used those meditations along with Scripture to great benefit. Me, I was thinking of choosing 40 chapters from the Apostle Paul’s letters to reflect upon his unique interpretation of the ‘flesh’ and our need to be rid of it in order to live the new life in Christ.

Here is the begining of my list, not in any order yet, but definitely ones I want to meditate on: Galatians 3,4,5; I Corinthians 1,2,3; II Corinthians 3,4,5,6; and Ephesians 2,3,4,5; Romans 1,2,5,6,7,8. I haven’t listed any from Hebrews or the Pastoral letters. I don’t think I’m going to have any trouble in finding 40 worthy chapters, do you?

